Download the PDF version of this doument

Section I – Application for Membership and Classification of Members

Applications for Fellow, Active or Student/Resident membership must be made through and determined by ACOEM.

a) A Fellow, Active or Student/Resident member application is a determination normally reviewed and approved directly by the College.

b) Honorary members may be elected at a meeting of the Board of Governors at which a quorum is present by the favorable vote of two-thirds of the members present at such meeting.

c) Active members may apply directly to the ACOEM for Fellowship consideration. Activities within this component can be verified by a statement from a component officer or by submitting copies of meeting certificates or other documentation.

CSOEMA members who are qualified for the designation as a Fellow are strongly urged to submit their application which can be obtained directly from the ACOEM website.

Candidates for Retired Membership shall apply directly to the College.

Section II – Discontinuance of Membership

A member may resign at will. Any member in arrears of dues past April 30 of the year will be automatically dropped from the membership. Any member dropped for non-payment of dues may be reinstated at any time previous to the convening of the Annual Meeting of the year following the delinquency by payment of dues in arrears as well as dues for the current year.

Section III – Committees

The standing committees shall be appointed by the President and shall serve for terms of one (1) year. They shall fulfill such duties as shall be designated to them by the President. The standing committees shall be:

a. Program Committee:
The Program Committee Chairman for each Spring and Fall meeting will be appointed by the presiding President. The Chairman will select committee members who will assist in developing the program content and arranging qualified speakers.

b. Nominating Committee:
The Nominating Committee will consist of three Board members appointed by the President normally headed by the Immediate Past President who will make nominations for all vacant offices.

c. Public Policy and Resolution Committee:
The Public Policy and Resolution Committee will consist of a member from each state and be chaired by the President-Elect. Each committee member will monitor their state legislation for activities or public policy that may have impact on occupational medicine or the provision of health care to employees. This committee will receive, evaluate and make recommendations to the Board of Governors on resolutions before they are forwarded to the ACOEM House of Delegates for consideration.

d. Executive Committee:
The Executive Committee will be comprised of the officers who include the President, President-Elect, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer and the Immediate Past-President. They will conduct the routine business of the Association to include financial activities. They shall be limited to unscheduled expenditures of $2500 for necessary non-budgeted purchases without approval of the Board of Governors.

e. Ad Hoc Committee:
The routine business between the Spring and Fall meetings will normally be conducted by the Executive Committee as described in the Constitution. The President may find that the sensitivity of issues at hand or the volume of work to be accomplished would warrant appointment of an ad hoc committee. Appropriate committee activities warranting committee appointment on an ad hoc or permanent basis might be membership, constitution and by-laws, and finance.

Section IV – Meetings

Continuing Medical Education meetings will normally be held in the Spring and Fall of each year. The Fall meeting will be rotated between the member states as feasible and practical. The Annual Business Meeting will normally be held in conjunction with the Spring educational meeting.

Section V – Duties of Officers

1.The President shall be the Chief Executive of the Association, shall preside at all meetings of the Association and the Board of Governors and shall be an ex-officio member of all committees. The term of office will be one (1) year. The President shall select the National Leadership Award Recipient. The President will chair the Executive Committee but otherwise will hold no other elected position or office in the Association while serving as President.

2.The President-Elect shall automatically assume the office of President following the vacation of that position by the President who will become the Immediate Past President. The President-Elect shall monitor the Association website and perform other duties as directed by the President. The President-Elect will chair the Public Policy and Resolution Committee. The term of office will be one (1) year.

3.The Vice President shall serve as the President in the event of the absence of both the President and President-Elect. The Vice President will normally be nominated for election to succeed the President-Elect. The Vice President is designated to monitor membership issues and foster the shepherding of new members. The term of office will be one (1) year.

4.The Secretary-Treasurer shall be responsible for insuring the minutes of the meetings are kept and accurately reflect the activities of the Association. The Secretary-Treasurer will have the fiduciary responsibility for the financial records of the Association and will provide reports to the Board of Governors and to the membership at the annual business meeting or as requested by the President. The Secretary-Treasurer will normally be nominated for election to succeed the Vice President. The term of office will be one (1) year.

5.The Immediate Past-President will be a member of the Executive Committee and will advise the other members of the committee on any issue where there has been any prior experience during his/her tenure as a member of the Executive Committee or Presidency. The term of the Immediate Past-President will be for one year to be succeeded by the vacating President.

Section VI – Order of Business

    • The order of business of the Board of Governors shall be:a. Roll callb. Reading of minutesc. Introduction of resolutions

      d. Reports of committees

      e. Unfinished business

      f. New business

      g. Adjournment

    • The order of business of the annual meeting of the Association shall be:a. Reading of minutesb. President’s remarksc. Invited speaker

      d. Election of officers

      e. Reports of officers, committees and Board of Governors

      f. Miscellaneous business

      g. Adjournment

  1. Vote by roll call shall be made upon demand by a majority vote of the membership.
  2. Sturgis Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure shall be the guidelines used for conduct of Association meetings when the Code is not in conflict with the Constitution and By-laws of this Association.

Section VII – Dues

ACOEM membership dues are specified in the By-laws of the College of which this Association is a component. Separate Association or component dues will be approved by the Board of Governors, collected by ACOEM and disbursed to this Association.

Become a member of ACOEM